Reapercast 100Th Episode! January 2nd 2019 | Subscribe | Past Episodes

Fallout 76 Megathread

megathread
76

#81

Upcoming Fallout 76 Beta Times

October 27 (Xbox One only)

US Pacific Time: 2 PM - 4 PM
US Eastern Time: 5 PM - 7 PM
UK BST: 10 PM - 12 AM
Australia AEDT: 8 AM - 10 AM (Sunday, October 28)

October 28 (Xbox One only)

US Pacific Time: 9 AM - 11 AM
US Eastern Time: 12 PM - 2 PM
UK GMT: 4 PM - 6 PM
Australia AEDT: 3 AM - 5 AM (Monday, October 29)

October 30

US Pacific Time: 4 PM - 8 PM
US Eastern Time: 7 PM - 11 PM
UK GMT: 11 PM - 3 AM
Australia AEDT: 10 AM - 2 PM (October 31)

November 1

US Pacific Time: 11 AM - 4 PM
US Eastern Time: 2 PM - 7 PM
UK GMT: 6 PM - 11 PM
Australia AEDT: 5 AM - 10 AM (November 2)

November 3

US Pacific Time: 2 PM - 6 PM
US Eastern Time: 5 PM - 9 PM
UK GMT: 9 PM - 1 AM
Australia AEDT: 8 AM - 12 PM (November 4)

November 4

US Pacific Time: 11 AM - 6 PM
US Eastern Time: 2 PM - 9 PM
UK GMT: 6 PM - 1 AM
Australia AEDT: 5 AM - 12 PM (November 5)


Edit: Had to correct some of those UK timings. Article has them wrong.


#82

My fallout Beta experience.

dead


#83

I was checking the Beta for the next posted times and got notification for another update.

44 GB


[PS4] Fallout 76 B.E.T.A 10/30/18
#84

Beta times are like, 2 posts up in this thread …

Thanks for advising on the patch though.


#85

Played for a few hours tonight and not sure if I will buy or cancel preorder. Was playing solo, so was kinda bored. Hopefully I can party up with some people next time.


#86

I played for pretty much the entire allotted time and while I was solo I had fun. I made it to level 6 so hopefully I can party up on Saturday and Sunday and take on some other dwellers.

If you’re a Fallout fan you’ll feel right at home and lost in the lore and nostalgia. Had some laughs at the holo tapes and terminal entries as well.


#87

I ended up playing for just over an hour, just solo too.
I did have @nonagintillion watching me play, pointing out the odd lootable box that I’d missed or discussing how some of the new features worked.

It was very familiar of the previous Fallout titles, with some bigger new features but largely the same gameplay.
Admittedly I didn’t get very far in and most of my fighting was just melee.

My only real annoyance so far was that the vendors / terminals / NPCs seemed only able to cope with one person interacting with them at a time.
Not sure if the same is true if you’re in a group but it certainly was with randos around.

Some of the audiotapes were good, impassioned or amusing. I didn’t usually bother to stand and wait at a terminal to hear the holotape ones though. Just pulled the holotape for later.

Be interested to see how groups work later this week!


#88

I got to level 5 last night. I did run into some randoms who invited me to their team, but really didn’t make any difference as we just stayed in the same area and helped kill stuff if close enough. This was my first time playing a FO title for more then a couple minutes.


#89

Yeah I figure randos can help a little with any sustained threat or event but generally you’ll have a better time playing with friends / on mic.


#90

Second night playing.
Solo again, got to Lv8 this time.

Started to get a little frustrated with some of the gameplay concepts, even things that didn’t bother me in previous Fallout titles are now annoying for new reasons.

  • Repeatedly visiting same areas for new quests / quest progression (enemies respawn)
  • Food and Drink has weight (now you need some of both to top off those meters)
  • VATS doesn’t slow-mo so I don’t use it
  • Pipboy doesn’t freeze time (did always feel a bit cheat-y to be fair)
  • Crafting tables, vendors and terminals can only handle ONE person interacting with them at a time - very frustrating when there is a gaggle of people in one area
  • Multiple quest markers on the HUD and compass sometimes with difficulty to distinguish between them and their location/height/whatever (can’t disable quest tracking so 11 compass points and a handful of HUD markers is possible)

PvP?
I haven’t tried it.
I had one person shoot me once or twice then left me alone.

Then this other fucknut. He whaled on me for a good 15-20 minutes (turns out one person can kill you with the “reduced damage” that they’re restricted to - since I never returned fire, I expect a small group could flatten you in seconds).
I had to use about 8 stimpaks.
No point fast-travelling, he could follow me. No way to change instance and nowhere to hide.
I could either:

  • fight him
  • ignore him / heal / get annoyed
  • reload to the main menu

I hope they change it to be like the Borderlands duel system, where you dealt zero damage to someone unless they accepted the duel and you could refuse duel invites.

Bugs and glitches were fairly minimal, though I hit some sustained poor frame rates whilst I was in a Super Mutant base which was slightly worrying.
Nothing broke or stuck, though item pickup seemed a bit slow/odd near the end of my play session.

I’ll play the BETA again, but probably only in a group.
My only worry about that is trying to listen to all the different audio strands at once…

  • Holotapes (story)
  • Triggered audio (story)
  • Dialogue lines (immersion)
  • Ambient noise (immersion)
  • PSN party chat

#91

You will be able to block people in the release version. It will remove them from your game or vise versa. There also is no penalty to just let them kill you and respawn. You may loose 30-60 secs of your time walking back to your previous location. It spawns you close.

It sure does help in a pinch. It’s basically auto aim.

It won’t be as big a problem during release. I played for a few hours yesterday and never ran into a single person. I was able to use all crafting benches and even claimed a crafting location and held it on my own for 2 hours. Once people are out of the starting area you rarely see them.

This is my #1 complaint. If I am playing with people I am not going to bother with holo tapes. It just a nightmare trying to listen to them with 3 other people talking.


Yesterday was the first time I have claimed a crafting location. I like this mechanic a lot. The location has it’s own mats so you can build and craft up until you reach the site budget. Every so often the game will send 3 waves of bad guys and you have to protect. In my case they where mole rats and they went straight for my generators. I finally got bored and left to go do some missions. About an hour after I left i got a message that the location was under attack. I didn’t make it back in time and lost it to more mole rats. I was really expecting some Human players to come and attack but I think people where focused on their own things.


#92

I don’t think I will be getting this. Maybe if it goes on sale, it just doesn’t fully interest me.


#93

I was adamant that I didn’t want to give him the satisfaction.

Yeah I did that too, mostly to clear a quest off my list. I left pretty soon after and it came under attack from Feral Ghouls but they never actually took it. Likewise, no human players seemed interested.
The producing materials bit is the best thing about it and the main reason I might engage with PvP.


#94

LOL…


#95

Xbox beta codes

CR3Q-TPR9R-2JJRF-23FVJ-PV2GZ

MDVW-QQDPX-RKQFY-XFK9J-Y9MX


#96

Beta is winding down. For those of you that have played what do you think?

Issues aside. I enjoy it. In most cases for those that wanted a 4 player co-op Fallout this is it. I did not run into a single hostile player. Most wanted to co-op a mission over being a douche. I do not miss NPC dialogue at all. I actually like to get the sweet and short version from Notes or Holotapes. Listening to holotapes in a group can suck. If in a group everyone stopping and listening together would probably be a easy way to enjoy that content. 10 days to finish RDR2. I am excited to explore the Wasteland with you guys on the 14th.


#97

I actually got to play this a little bit today. My wife played more than I had and she’s on the fence. Reason being is that things aren’t as slow and methodical in this release. It seemed as if you’re always working against a clock or an event and there was no way of pausing like full SP version. That’s what my wife doesn’t like as she likes SP and will miss out on VATS.

I think playing with a group will be fun. One of the main reasons is base security. Questing should be a lot better.

I thought the visuals we’re great, but in some aspects, after playing RDR, was a little lacking. Again, comparing to RDR… Compared to FarCry they were pretty much on par.


#98

Well it’s basically FO4 still in terms of graphics, physics and engine.
So, a little dated now - especially for a FO title.


#99

Played a bit more last night, joined SoInZane as he already had a session going.

The game let me join his instance, then fast-travel to him (no caps cost) which put me within 20ft of the house he was in.

Either he was so focused on searching that house for junk or the game didn’t announce it to him - either way he said it was a little weird when he heard a player voice on prox chat which sounded just like me…

Then he had to invite me to his team.
Makes sense but it was only after that our quest activity was joined up and his name appeared on my HUD for easy tracking.

Despite our slow progress (we kept getting sidetracked), it was relatively easy to see where our quest progress overlapped.
We could also individually progress our own quests without issue which was nice.

The only discrepancy I observed was that the workshop SoInZane claimed didn’t inform me about the attacks or show me defence progress.
Still, I could contribute to the workshop building and claim the mats.

As a sidenote, I find the workshops a little weird.
You have to claim them, presuming unclaimed, then defend from AI and other players, meanwhile any mats produced can only be collected by extractors which costs mats to build and require power to run.
Then you have to put locks on them to stop other randoms from collecting the mats, plus add defences since those extractors will be all over the workshop space.
Yet when you logout you’ll lose your ownership immediately.
So, to me, it only seems worth doing that kind of thing near the start of a play session.

Other than that it was mostly the same minor annoyances:

  • Waiting to use vendors
  • Being careful with audio overlap
  • Constantly handling inventory and junk
  • Always searching for the adhesive mat

Playing with just one more player was more fun, even just to share the experience and laugh about bugs.


#100

I still have it pre orderd. Too me it was extremely annoying playing solo, as I got wrecked repeatedly the few times I tried doing event missions where no one was around.

Group play makes it a fun game, but I’m not sure this game has the legs to keep me interested long term.